Getting to know Firenze

not sure how, but the Medici accountant is morphing into Nicholas Cage

I don’t know how I do it, standing up for nine-ish hours everyday drawing and having the energy to explore, but I do. Somehoooooow. It’s been a bit too long since my last post, but I’ve been spending some time with Florence!

Here are some things you might see here:

1. Gelato. Everywhere. There may just be a scrumptious opportunity on every corner, but you have to search out the good stuff. Never buy two scoops for more than €2.
2. Cafes. Also everywhere. Sometimes in the same space as a gelateria. They have other options, but the only good thing is coffee. And there’s a spectrum of quality even within that. Unfortunately I don’t know the best coffee in town, because I do not partake, so I judge a place on its atmosphere. Or, you know, a wireless signal. If you’re ordering anything else (ex: Coke) you’re probably American.
3. Internationals. I don’t mean tourists (although there are many of those too). You are just as likely to run into a Brit as you are an Italian, if not more so. According to my cousin Charles, who has lived here for 40-some years, Florence is the smallest international city by population in the world, so the people you see everyday are most likely from out of town. I think more people speak English than they do in any other non-English country I’ve been to, and I’ve been to so seriously touristy places!
4. Picturesque landmarks. There are many ugly parts of Florence, but the majority of the inner city by the Arno is gorgeous. The tourist destinations and preserved sites are definitely worth the wait, or the money or whatever you think you’re giving up when you’re traveling. On Monday I visited the Boboli Gardens with a couple friends from school and got some pictures which may illustrate my point:

(You may get the Duomo from all of the angles by the end of my stay, fair warning.)

5. Amazing architecture still in use, that may also be covered in art dating back as far as the Renaissance. There are paintings on almost every street, including my little alley way, of the Madonna and Child. Juxtaposed with the grime of streetlife, you get quite a scene. Apparently Florence’s skyline hasn’t so hanged since the fifties, so the view from any apartment building can still get a sight of the surrounding hills.

Things I’ve experienced:

– platform-heeled bicyclists
– leather shops, everywhere
– grandmas riding Vespas
– hen parties in front of the duomo
– gypsies
– baby blue capri suits on men
– street art
– babies in Armani
– tights for men
– amazing food, both from dining out and from the local grocer
– street performers pre-performance

I could write more, but then I’d be sitting here until closing! If you have any question of my travels or would like to request pics or suggest destinations, feel free to comment! Now, to sit and relax and enjoy a little Internet before I head out into the rainy afternoon!

Arrivederci!

2 thoughts on “Getting to know Firenze

  1. Van says:

    Ava looking at your pictures makes me super jealous! One of my dreams is to go to Florence. It’s so beautiful… Enjoy your stay there!!!

Leave a Reply

